Versatile Blogger Award-Take 2

20150307 - Versatile Blogger Award

Thank you so much to My Brain’s Escape and My Perfect Breakdown for the nomination!

Rules for nomination:

  • Post the award on your blog.
  • Thank the person who nominated you.
  • Share 7 facts about yourself.
  • Nominate 15 blogs.
  • List the nominees and let them know about it

(I apologize in advance, I tried to use the numbering feature on this post, and so my numbering is entirely screwed up and I can’t fix it.)

librarians

  1. Part of being a good librarian is enjoying research, and this stereotype fits me perfectly. On the job, I’m always determined to find as much information as possible for my patrons. More than once they have had to stop me and tell me that they’ve had enough. There have been times when, even after the patron leaves, I will continue to research their question to find the information I was trying to retrieve for them. This habit spreads into my personal life. If I’m at dinner with friends and someone asks a question, I’ll usually be on my phone trying to find the answer, even after the conversation has moved on to other topics. I can’t help it. I do not like unanswered questions.

image1

  1. In High School and College I was a very bad student. I was put in AP classes, but rarely earned above a C in anything but English, Science, and Electives. I was TERRIBLE at History and Math. In hindsight, this was because I never realized that I needed to study. For some reason, I had it in my head that whatever I learned in class should be enough, and homework would fill in the rest. I never did any additional work. I’m lucky I earned the grades I did. I never failed history, but I certainly failed math. This trend continued for my first two years of college. After my first year of college I was actually kicked out of school for failing math too many times, and I had to take classes at a community college while living at home, before I was accepted back for the winter quarter. Part of my problem may also have been the fact that I always fell asleep in class. It goes hand in hand with my car-colepsy (inability to stay awake in a moving vehicle). Fortunately, I straightened out for graduate school and graduated with the top of my class for my Masters of Library and Information Science.

ice cream sandwich

  1. I have a giant sweet tooth. Like, ridiculously big. My day is not complete without some sort of candy or treat. Hubby shares my affliction (however I’m the only one who has put back on all of my pre-wedding weight). We are in search of the perfect creme brulee, and have to order it if it’s on the menu when we go out. We will usually share an entree so that we can get two desserts to split. I also really enjoy ice cream… when it’s raining. It’s ok at other times, but ice cream in the rain is the best. In high school I walked over two miles in a torrential downpour for two scoops of Golden Metal Ribbon from Baskin Robbins.
  2. I have a TERRIBLE sense of direction. Even with the assistance of Google Maps, I have gotten us lost more times than I can count. Luckily, Hubby is a good sport about it, because we’ve wound up in some… interesting places. And yet, despite this, I always insist that I know where I’m going and get frustrated when someone tries to contradict my directions. I know, right!?!
  3. In college I worked for the Annual Fund. What this means is that I was a telemarketer for my college. Every night at dinnertime I would call alumni and parents of students to seek donations for the university. I did this for three years, and worked another 6 months after college calling doctors offices as a representative for a medical company. Needless to say, I HATE talking on the phone. Even if you call me, unless I REALLY, REALLY like you, I will text you back. I go out of my way to avoid making phone calls for work. I’ve even skipped things like scheduling massages, because I really don’t want to make a phone call.
  4. I only ever wear flat footwear. I have one pair of wedges that I will sometimes wear if the occasion calls for it. There is definitely something up with my feet, because whether I’m in flip-flops or fully supported athletic shoes, the bottoms of my feet always hurt by the end of the day. They feel like they’re bruised, and I’m often hobbling when I get home. A day at an amusement park is torture because, while I’m having fun, I can usually hardly stand after 8 hours in line. So, no heels for this gal!

pillow and a blanket

  1. I’m a creature of comfort, and I bring my own blanket and pillow with me everywhere. In fact, I brought them with me to Hawaii. That’s right, we checked one bag so that I could bring my own bedding. I love that Hubby understands this about me and encourages me to bring them with me so that I’ll be comfortable. He’s the best!

I’m feeling super lazy, so I’m not going to make any nominations. However, if you’re reading this and feel like making a post which will let me (and other bloggers) know a bit more about you, please consider yourself nominated!

13 thoughts on “Versatile Blogger Award-Take 2

  1. I feel the same way about shoes! My biggest heel is about 2″, and I hardly ever wear them. My feet feel the same way as yours sometimes (like today!)…they just feel bruised on the bottom and I don’t want to walk anymore. I always thought it had something to do with being flat footed, but honestly I don’t know. Thanks for sharing fun facts about yourself!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. No problem!! I’ve never known anyone else with this issue either, I thought I was just weird lol! I’ve tried so many shoes and insoles, but nothing ever fully relieves it. Maybe some day I’ll figure it out!

        Like

      1. Hahaha. Well done Mr Owl! It used to drive my ex mad… He never believed I wasn’t doing it on purpose. I could never stay awake on long car journeys!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. He’s your husband, therefore he takes your name, no? 😉
        Me too… At least over time they’ve all given up on any kind of meaningful interaction in the car!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment